HOME > News & Events

News & Events

Professor Xiong Zhengqin was granted the honor of “The Top Ten Young Scientists in Jiangsu Province”

Date: 2014-12-18


The fifth Annual Conference of Jiangsu Young Scientists was opened in Nanjing,           China   on November 29, 2014 with the theme of “the construction of ecological civilization and the mission of the young scientists”. Professor Xiong Zhengqin was granted the honor of “The Top Ten Young Scientists in Jiangsu Province” in 2013-2014 due to her contribution to the nitrogen cycling and food security and ecological reservation. Wang Yanwen, member of the Standing Committee and the Minister of the Publicity Department in Jiangsu Provincial Party Committee presented at the opening ceremony and granted the awards to the winners. Xu Nanping, vice-president of Jiangsu Provincial People's Political Consultative Conference and member of the Provincial Government Party Members delivered speech at the opening ceremony. Professor Chen Ligen, Vice-president of Nanjing Agricultural University, was invited to attend the opening ceremony.          

Professor Xiong Zhengqin investigated the greenhouse gas nitrous oxide emissions from intensively managed vegetable field in   China   and pointed out its high emission rate and emission factor. She conducted a prior research on the isotopic signature of nitrous oxide in Chinese rice paddies and nitrous oxide dissolved in the water bodies and explained mechanically the low nitrous oxide emissions from the waterway region in South China. Nature News reported the progress of their related researches on greenhouse gases from rice agriculture.


Honors of “The Top Ten Young Scientists in Jiangsu Province” are selected and awarded jointly by the Minister of the Organization Department of Jiangsu Provincial Party Committee, Human Resources and Social Security Department, and Science and Technology Association of Jiangsu Province. The honors are granted to those most dedicated to our country and their enterprises, most brave and innovative young representatives who contributed greatly in the basic research theories, engineering techniques, transformation and popularization of scientific and technological achievements.